If I say strep throat, you say…….

antibiotics, right?  Isn’t that what’s normally used to treat strep?  I know from experience that by not treating strep, complications can arise so it cannot go unattended.  Recently, I was having a busy week with a busy weekend coming up.  I woke up on Thursday with a bit of a sore throat and an achy head.  Thinking that it was allergies, I used some lavender by filling capsules and ingesting them.  The lavender helped a bit with the sinus issues but my throat and head were still bothering me.  The next day it was worse and, not wanting to admit that I was sick, I tried to brush it off.  I was determined not to let this, what ever it was, ruin my plans for the weekend.  By late afternoon, I began to realize that I did not have a choice.  I had a rash, I was tired, my throat hurt, my head hurt and I had a fever.  I was sick – Ugh!  Out the window went my weekend plans and into bed I went.

Strep is a bacterial infection.  I did not know that I had strep but I knew that my oils would help.  Essential oils have strong antibacterial (and antiviral) properties so I used a combination of oils which I applied on my throat and on my head.  I also diffused various oils and ingested them.  (If you have read any of my other posts, sorry for the repeat but….. ) I only recommend using and ingesting Young Living oils.  I say this over and over because it is really important for people to know that essential oils are not created equally.  It is important to know your supplier and their manufacturing practices.  You can see my “Why choose Young Living Oils?” page for more information about the quality of Young Living oils.

Please note that I am not a medical doctor and I am not prescribing a way to cure strep.  This is just what worked for me.

Here are my golden rules when using essential oils:

  1. Use what you have.  I used what I had on hand which was thieves, frankincense, melrose, panaway and a few others.  If I had oregano I would have used that as well.
  2. More is more (at least that is my philosophy with oils).  Throw everything you can at an illness as soon as you can.  I waited a bit too long to get started.  Next time I’m showing no mercy!
Thieves is your very best friend when you are sick or when you think you might be getting sick.  This is the blend you always want to have on hand.  I gargled with thieves, I diffused it, rubbed it on my throat and I ingested it.  If you want to make your own home remedy kit, this oil should be at the top of the list.  Actually, all the oils in the Everyday Oil Kit would make the list but if I had to narrow it down to just a few, thieves would be the chosen one.  Thieves contains clove (used by the dental industry for years to numb pain), cinnamon, rosemary & lemon.  It’s a highly antiviral, antibacterial blend.  Don’t even hesitate – just get it and, this is key, USE IT.  A friend of mine has a gland issue every so often that she regularly treated with a trip to the Dr. and a prescription of antibiotics.  After learning about thieves, I gave her a bottle which she quickly put in the back of a drawer (probably thinking it would never get used).  Months later, when her glands were acting up she dug it out and used it because she didn’t want to deal with being sick.  She was in the middle of a very important project and did not have the time to go to the doctor and then wait for the antibiotics to kick in.  Much to her surprise thieves did the trick!  You can use the link to see her testimonial.
I also used frankincense to help boost my immune system.  I put a few drops of thieves and a few drops of frankincense together in a capsule with a drop of extra virgin olive oil which I took 3-4 times per day.
Melrose is also very good for sore throats.  It has melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) and rosemary.  I gargled with melrose as well as used it on my neck.
Diffusing is really helpful when you want to make sure you don’t share what you have with other family members.  By diffusing thieves at night, I was able to inhale the oil while I slept.  Diffusing thieves also kills airborne germs.  On a side note, I love the Therapro diffuser, by far the best diffuser I have ever owned!  What’s even better is when you buy a Therapro from Young Living, you get a bottle of Thieves free – awesome!!!!!!  It is great to use a diffuser to scent your home but when you are sick or when you want to stop something before it gets bigger a diffuser is imperative.  When my kids look a bit rundown I add a bit of thieves to the diffuser and turn it on when they are watching t.v.  And if they are sick they get it in their room at night.  It always helps and it really is an important tool when using essential oils.

Of course, I got plenty of rest and drank lots of water.  I also took lots and lots of vitamin c as well as vitamin D, omega blues, Ningxia Red, and Life 5 probiotics.  The best part of having therapeutic oils on hand is that you don’t have to wait to go to a doctor in order to feel better.  When I realized I was sick early Friday evening, it was not a great time to see a doctor but I was still able to help myself start to feel better over the weekend.

Unfortunately, we can’t just run out to the store if we are sick and pick up a bottle of pure, therapeutic grade essential oil.  To find the best oils you have to go to the internet.  To find the very best, from a company  that is dedicated to quality and that has a large variety of singles and blends as well as personal care products and supplements then you have to order from Young Living.  If you wanted a good start for home remedies, my first choice would be the Everyday Oils Kit.  See my 3 part post starting with “A Natural Apothecary with Young Living Oils – Part I”.  The oils in that kit can be used for fevers, headaches, muscle pain, allergies, bug bites, bruises, burns, stress, sore throat, and as a sleep aid.  And those are just some of the uses for the oils.

If you want to learn more about how to get started using Young Living Essential Oils  see my “How to Order Young Living Oils” page for more details.

Francine Smith blogs about Young Living Essential oils.  You can find more posts at http://www.younglivinglife.com

Leave a Reply

