The Awesome Power of Frankincense Oil

I am sure it doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone that I love essential oils.  I love them because they smell good, I love them because I get results fast.  I love that my kids love them and that they ask for them when they are hurt or sick.  What I also love about essential oils, is that they are about hope.

Frankincense has been a part of human history for thousands of years.  It is even mentioned in the Ebers Papyrus, the oldest known medical record and dates from the sixteenth century B.C.  Ancient Egyptians listed frankincense in hundreds of recipes and prescriptions.  Frankincense was once considered more valuable than gold, was often stolen from Egyptian tombs (instead of real gold) and was used to treat every conceivable ill.

When I started looking for information on essential oils, one of the first articles I came upon was this one from the BBC News entitled “Frankincense:  Could it be a cure for cancer?.  I remember feeling so excited after reading the article.  Just imagine if cancer could be treated with an essential oil instead of chemo?    The studies show that frankincense basically shuts down cancer cells without doing any harm to healthy cells!  The article mentions Dr. Mahmoud Suhail.  He is an immunologist who is studying frankincense for the answers about what it is in the oil that causes the cancer to react in such a way.  I actually met Dr. Suhail at the Young Living Farm this past June.  Dr. Suhail talked about his research and about how uncommon cancer is in Oman, where he has a medical practice.  He sees about 1 cancer patient per year!  He believes that using frankincense has contributed to the low cancer rate in Oman.  The Omanis will drop a piece of resin in water to soak overnight and will consume it in the morning.  They also burn the resin on a frankincense burner or they will chew it.  Frankincense has traditionally been used to treat ailments such as asthma, arthritis, Crohns, ulcerative colitis and irritable bowl syndrome.

I found this PubMed study on frankincense and bladder cancer.  Below is the conclusion from the study….

“Frankincense oil appears to distinguish cancerous from normal bladder cells and suppress cancer cell viability.  Microarray and bioinformatics analysis proposed multiple pathways that can be activated by frankincense oil to induce bladder cancer cell death.  Frankincense oil might represent an alternative intravesical agent for bladder cancer treatment.”

Isn’t that awesome??!!  One of the researchers on the bladder cancer study  is Dr. H.K. Lin, an immunologist and cancer researcher from the University of Oklahoma.  Dr. Lin  was also at Young Living’s convention this past June where he showed slides of his research on patients with bladder cancer.  Some patients were treated with frankincense while others received traditional cancer treatment.  Remarkably, the patients treated with frankincense showed an almost 100% cancer cell death without showing ANY healthy cell death!  Not only is that unheard of in cancer treatment but the patients also did not experience ANY side effects.  I remember Dr. Lin expressing his sincere surprise and excitement over the results.  He is now conducting more research using Young Living’s essential oils including Frankincense, Sandalwood, Balsam Fir, Palo Santo, and Tsuga against breast, colon, lung, prostate, and pancreatic cancers.  Dr. Lin also mentioned that using therapeutic grade frankincense on a daily basis would be an effective cancer preventative.  I found this quote from Dr. Lin on e! Science News: “Frankincense oil may represent an inexpensive alternative therapy for patients currently suffering from bladder cancer.”

One of the very best features of essential oils is that they are not one hit wonders.  Yes, frankincense may be a cure for cancer but it can also be used everyday for many different purposes through topical application, diffusion or ingesting (I recommend ingesting only YL oils) such as:

  • to support the immune system
  • to alleviate congestion
  • to promote peace and calming
  • to remove warts
  • to help smooth wrinkles (one of my favorites)

For me, frankincense was not a love at first whiff.  I had seen seasoned oilers go on about it and I just didn’t get it.  It’s aroma took some getting used to as I  prefer more floral and citrus scents.  But now, I love the smell of frankincense.  It has become one of my must-have oils because I feel better when I use it.  It grounds me, it supports me, it soothes me and it reminds me that people thousands of years ago used frankincense for the very same reasons.

Francine Smith blogs about Young Living Essential Oils.  You can find more posts at http://www.younglivinglife.wordpress.com

One thought on “The Awesome Power of Frankincense Oil

  1. Pingback: A Natural Apothecary with Young Living Oils – Part III « Young Living Life

Leave a Reply

